A friend : grief

Keishara Azhari
2 min readMay 3, 2022

--

By : Keishara Azhari

Walls thickens as your heart and mouth synced towards the empty hollowed space. Filling the emptiness with waves of sounds, daunting my tiny beating organ that was once mine, but I willingly give to you permanently.

But yet pain, I feel. Pain, stayed.

Your figure shadowed mine, along with your voice that seemed to kept on pitching over one minuet to another.

The fear inside me kept growing as you get closer to the conclusion, which we, initially avoid.

Once a stare was given eons ago, one feeling never changed. A feeling that was partially your doing and was partially just because of your existence. A feeling which I denied to let go.

But yet a stack of feeling contradicts to what I mentioned earlier, kept growing and growing as if it was built by force.

None of us wanted to feel as if we’re obligated to move along the stream that leads to an endless yet unknown pain.

But the truth must win, truth brings pain but living with lies hurts more.

Tears that were meant to be seen on top of a grave, on top of our wrinkled skin, showed their forms at that very moment I hugged your shaking body.

Arms were locked and was signalling to be kept that way, that specific way of you being in mine, but neither of us felt like following it would be wise.

Love, is still there. The love that we built will forever be there, will forever exist. But not with us being each other’s pillar of a life.

Watching you turn away, with tears and knowing that pain will fill you up, triggered a pain inside my chest. Each step you took with a singular picture of your back walking away slowly brought me to a friend of mine.

Hello grief.

--

--